Twist and Shout

Despite some minor setbacks, this Valentine’s Day weekend went well.

A running topic at The Corner Booth has been: when will Mike get his computer shit fixed, yo? The saga continues…

I make my way into Lexington around 8 PM Friday evening. I made it to my friend’s apartment, and dropped off my monitor, my old tower, and the parts for the new box. I’m lucky to have tech-savvy friends who aren’t afraid of fucking up incredibly small computer equipment; doing the assembly myself would have caused me to pee my pants. Anyhoo, they wanted to do the physical build on Friday night, and we would all meet together on Saturday morning to install the software while watching the UK game (UK beat the piss out of Arkansas, by the way).

With my parts in their care, I went out for an enjoyable evening with my future roommates Erin and Josef. We went out for dinner, then headed to Pazzo’s (only the best pizza pub ever) for some drinks. Afterward, we headed to a mutual friend’s place for a firepit gathering. I’ll admit, I’m a bit of a pyromaniac, so finding things that would get the fire to a steady roar was my task for the two hours or so we were there. Very fun. Add in a Smash Bros. and Mario Kart nightcap, and it’s a solid night.

Saturday, I get to my friend’s place and find out that the motherboard—you remember, the one that I had to wait for because it was on back order—was shot. They had tested all the other parts, including the power supply, but couldn’t get the thing to come on. After a few minutes on the phone with customer service, I had a return shipping label in my inbox, and a new motherboard on the way. Looks like I’ll have to wait until next week to have my geek-out post. My apologies to those of you who were waiting on pins and needles. Of course, pins and needles aren’t exactly comfy things, so maybe you shouldn’t have been waiting on them in the first place.

Saturday evening went well, despite the fact that it was Valentine’s day and I’m recently single. I had some dinner and Jeopardy fun with Joe and Erin, then it was off to the bowling alley with Hohjamin…except that the bowling alley had about 3 lanes open, and there was a mile-long line to put your name on a waiting list. No thanks, we said, and headed to a bar with the best selection in Lexington (over 200, total). Hohjamin may have convinced me to start looking for a job early, and move out to Lex Vegas ahead of my current schedule—damn him and his MBA brains. We’ll see how it goes.

And that’s about it. I head back home today, spend a week at work, and then come back, hoping that the mobo is indeed the issue, and that the one being sent to me now is in working order. Oh, and I got a new (to me) camera! It’s awesome! I’ll have to post practice shots sometime this week.

Now, if I can only convince myself that Taco Bell is not a good breakfast…

3 responses to “Twist and Shout

  1. taco bell is always a good breakfast.

  2. Taco Bell rocks my socks! IMHO- chicken quesadillas make great breakfast food! Chalupas, however, not so much. Found that one out the hard way.

  3. You are a smart man, and smart men have a very difficult time convincing themselves of blatant falsehoods. I wish you luck, nonetheless.

Leave a Reply

