Snippets of Insanity

The past week has gone like this:

  • Was told on Monday that time was up on a case on Tuesday. I’d been trying to get records for said case for three weeks, and the office which was to supply the records was being shitty about it. Long story short: the miscommunication of my superiors and the non-compliance of another office worker caused me 1.5 days of stress and anger. 
  • Had a client come in to start a file with our office. Usually, this takes me 30-45 minutes. My boss decided to come in and talk with the client. Took me 90 minutes. And it was not fun.
  • The day after the high-pressure records situation, my computer decided to shut down. And not come back up. The whole day. Turns out, the tech guy who came over installed the wrong damn network card. Hardware issue. Easy as hell to solve, and he pushed the card in anyway. What a dick. 
  • Because the two supervisors in the office focus on…well, we’ll say they don’t focus on what should be focused on, all of the preceding events are being viewed as my fault, even though I’ve put in my best effort despite having little notice (and, I don’t mess with the insides of work computers).

Even though I fixed everything (regardless of whose fault it was) I really thought I was going to lose my job. It was nuts. I heard myself say, “But what would I do without it? Where would I go?” I’ve never thought that about any job. Ever. Suddenly, I had a thought:

Fuck you, economy.

I will not, at the age of 23, be chained down by any job. I’m young, which means I’m mobile, agile, and worthwhile (yeah, I just did that). I’m not quitting, but until I’m grey-headed or bald (it’s up in the air right now) I will never view my self-worth through the lens of a shitty job.

Thanks, reality check—you did your job last night.

 

In other, less crazy news, I’m headed to Lexington after work today. I have a birthday drink to buy, a computer to build, a haircut to get, and some drinks to down. I’ll try to post with a wrap up on Monday or Tuesday (probably Tuesday, as I’ll have a shit-ton of photos if I do this right). 

Any plans for the weekend, kids?

P.S. Alec Baldwin made my life last night on 30 Rock.

3 responses to “Snippets of Insanity

  1. Well done! so you kinda fixed everything by yourself? Awesome…
    I agree you’re young and don’t need to suffer the stress of being attached to a job (which doesn’t necessarily mean you’re not going to be a good worker and try to do your best, right?)
    Anyway, haircuts are always fun, I hope the results please you 🙂

  2. Boo work. If I viewed my self-worth on work this week, I’d fire myself. Get to Lexington and start job hunting, you deserve better and you are worth more then a crappy job at some 2-bit law firm in Pikeville.

    On another note, according to my computer’s dictionary ‘Pikeville’ is not a word.

  3. “I will not, at the age of 23, be chained down by any job. I’m young, which means I’m mobile, agile, and worthwhile (yeah, I just did that). I’m not quitting, but until I’m grey-headed or bald (it’s up in the air right now) I will never view my self-worth through the lens of a shitty job.”

    While I completely agree with this statement, wait until you quit your shitty job on just such a principal and move to a new town, and the only work you can find there is an even shittier job at a grocery store. Your self-esteem kind of bottoms out after that.

Leave a Reply

