Super Delegator

NOTE: I just lost this post. Why the hell did WordPress log me out?

Don’t know what happened, but I managed to delegate responsibility…to my direct supervisor. GTD FTW!

Actually, I’m well aware of what happened. I was feeling overloaded, and not because I’m unorganized. I was given way more work than I could do in forty hours a week. Writing all the briefs in my department, plus the normal mundane paperwork. Not a great thing, especially when you find out on Wendesday that you have one due Thursday and two due Friday. Luckily, I was able to get an attorney to write one of the briefs (it was their case, so I didn’t feel bad) and the other case settled, rendering moot the submission of a brief.

What did I learn from that experience? That, if I thought I was being given an unfair workload, I could talk to the higher-ups and work out a solution. At least, that’s what I thought would happen, until I realized the true issue—I wasn’t understanding my job duties clearly. So, I went to The Boss (not the same guy who did a crotch slide into the camera during the Super Bowl halftime show) for clarification. Turns out, I’m not supposed be doing all the briefs after all. Which is awesome. If I had been assigned all the briefs, I would have had to ask to have a lightened paperwork load.

All this may sound like I’m bitching about work, but I’m not. Just relaying a tale of how one determined, hairy cube-type decided to take a stand and say, “Hey, tell me what the fuck I’m supposed to be doing!”

How about you? We all feel overloaded with work at some point. What did you do to handle the situation? Did you ask for clarification of your job duties? Did you decide that you needed to be better organized (and if so, how did you organize yourself)? Did you crawl under your desk and wait for 5 PM to roll around? Sharing is caring, leave comment love.

Happy Monday to all my fellow office/cube slaves.

3 responses to “Super Delegator

  1. maybe you are overwhelmed because you talk to people (me) on gchat all day? hmmmm

    kidding.

    I feel overloaded every day because I’m the most disorganized person in the world…but hey– at least i know it’s my fault.

  2. Sometimes I get overloaded because I am so important at work. Each athlete that I tutor is counting on me to help them with their class. If they do badly in the class, or fail it, they could lose their eligibility to play sports, get kicked out of school, never make it to the NBA, and it would all by my fault.

    Of course, this isn’t true, and I relax by reminding myself that I am only in charge for one or two hours a week and that the other 166 are completely up to the student. It helps.

  3. I feel overloaded sometimes, but I beleive it steems from my poor organization skills, mostly. I have 4 or 5 things on my to do list right now that will probably take severals to complete them all, and that doesn’t include all of the day-to-day stuff. Looks like I might be working after hours. (oh and I have I mentioned I don’t get OT? yeah it sucks).

Leave a Reply

