Interviewed by A Perfectly Cursed Life

A few days ago, I was doing my thing, swimming through my Google Reader and the blogosphere, when I came upon  Perfectly Cursed Life. I believe I may have stumbled upon it through my Twitter page, actually. Anyhoo, I commented on a post in which the author asked people if they wanted to be interviewed. I said, what the hell, and here we are, kids. I enjoy this blog very much, and suggest you check it out. Here’s the short but sweet interview:


What is your favorite line from a song or book, and why? Does it relate to a specific occurence in your life?

I’m not sure if I have a favorite, but two come to mind: The last four words of George Orwell’s 1984 (which I won’t write here, as it would spoil the book, I think), and a quote from Kurt Vonnegut’s God Bless You, Mr. Rosewater, which goes like this:

“Hello, babies. Welcome to Earth. It’s hot in the summer and cold in the winter. It’s round and wet and crowded. At the outside, babies, you’ve got about a hundred years here. There’s only one rule that I know of, babies—God damn it, you’ve got to be kind.”

No occurences, just good and very important lines.

You have to choose any person, living or dead, to write your biography. Who and why?

It would have to be Kurt Vonnegut, Hunter S. Thompson, or Dave Eggers. Either would do an incredible job, and they would come closest to how I would write it myself.

Someone once said that destiny is a fickle bitch. Has this been true in your life and how? (Bonus if you catch the reference)

Eh, it’s a tough call. It would be a “yes” if the word “destiny” were replaced with the word “life.” Life is certainly fickle–it can go this way and that, with and against our plans. But, destiny is a tough thing–after all, how do we know that what happens to us isn’t meant to be? Probably haven’t answered anything as much as I’ve raised questions.

I’ve dealt with severe medical issues with both parents, a somewhat crazy family (aunts, uncles, etc.), the transition from high school boy to college graduate, and most importantly, puberty. I’ve had some curveballs, but I’m stronger for them.

When was a time that you realized that you were over your head?

Probably the fall semester of my last year of college. I was going to school full-time, maintaining an apartment, and working two jobs, one of which was as a night-time truck loader at UPS. I made it okay for five weeks, but couldn’t keep up; it got to a point where I had to save my grades and quit the night shift. Had there been more hours in a day, I might have been able to pull it off.

Were you one of the millions who hated adolesence (high school in particular) or did you enjoy it?

I enjoyed my high school years. I was part of a summer program that actually helped me become the guy I am today. I went from a shy, introverted person to an outgoing, sociable person. I’m not saying it was a cakewalk, but I didn’t hate it. I think it was because I didn’t worry about going to all the goddamn dances. Seriously, those things are nothing but a pain in the ass—a sorry excuse to dress up in uncomfortable clothing for four hours with people you won’t hang with after you graduate, dancing to shitty music. Avoid them at all costs.

Bonus: Can you name all five Great Lakes from east to west without using a map or other resource?

No, but I’ll try: Superior, Michigan, Huron, Erie, Ontario. I just remember the “HOMES” device, and I know the names. Let me know how I do.

One response to “Interviewed by A Perfectly Cursed Life

  1. Eggers is such a good choice, he would be on my short list too!

Leave a Reply

