WTF: National Delurking Week

Until a couple of weeks ago, I had no idea what delurking was. Until a few minutes ago, I had no idea it had its own holiday.

My thought when I found out about this process was: in order to de-lurk, musn’t one first lurk? Turns out, I’m right. Quick lesson for those who want to know what’s up:

Lurking: To read messages on a blog without ever posting a comment/sending an email about the content of said blog (it does expand to news/chat rooms, but for our sake, let’s keep it to blogs).

So, if we know that lurking means what it does, then it makes sense to infer the definition of “delurking” as…

Delurking: Coming out of online lurking mode, usually motivated by an irresistible need to make a point on either a particular post or give a response to a comment on a particular post.

Quick show of hands–how many of you just found out you were guilty of something for which you didn’t know there was a name? Yeah, me too. But fear not, oh brave spelunker of the blogger’s cave, for I have a way in which you can redeem yourself. Are you ready?

Leave a comment on this post, and on any/all others you read this week. Let the blogger know you care about them. I can’t really say it much better than Shaba did over at A Blog of Her Own. I also must give credit to Liz over at WhatLizSaid.com for writing the first post that I saw on the subject, as well as introducing the idea of the PBC (go read to find out what that stands for, and comment, damn you!).

It’s that simple, really. I suppose it’s psychologically satisfying to get a comment on a post—lets you know that, not only does someone read your blog, but that they want to join the conversation. I’ll try to elaborate on this idea a little more when I get home. Gym after work, then a shower and dinner before my experiment with TV begins. First up: The Big Bang Theory (actually, CBS has a bang-up line-up tonight, including How I Met Your Mother and Two and a Half Men).

I must go now; I forgot to leave comments on those posts I linked to earlier. Eep!

7 responses to “WTF: National Delurking Week

  1. I’d have a lot more time on my hands if I ever lurked. I just don’t have it in me.

  2. I’m lurking you right now!

  3. I love you and your blog Mikey!!!

    P.S. Did you like Big Bang Theory? It’s one of my favorites.

  4. @Hohjamin: I love you and your home-brewed beer.

    Yes, I did enjoy Big Bang Theory. The theme song annoys the hell out of me, which might make the show a little less watchable, but overall it’s not too bad.

  5. But! What if I like what you’ve said, but have nothing whatsoever to add? Do I just say “Hey, good post”? I suppose so.

    By the by, thank you for not lurking on my blog. As I suspect that you are one of the few long-term readers (most people find me via search engines), this makes me happy.

  6. Also, I searched for “The Corner Booth” on a whim, and discovered that you’re not the first such blog/website listed, but you are on the front page.

Leave a Reply

