Silence Followed By A Deafening Roar…

is the title of Paul Gilbert’s latest CD. Go buy it now.

I haven’t been able to play my guitar lately; my job takes up most of the time I’m awake, and you can’t really play in your sleep (although air guitar could count). As a result, my chops have suffered. I wasn’t all that fast, but at least my hand was nimble. During a recent jam session, though, I felt like I was working way too hard to get my hand to do what I wanted it to do–a feeling I don’t like, as music should be effortless in my book.

What to do?! I’ve pretty much abandoned Stella (my guitar) and it’s crazy. To paraphrase Tom Cruise in TA Few Good Men, I think better with my guitar. 

Any help out there?

Leave a Reply

