Flex Your Muscle

In my house, when I’m grown up, I will have a rotary phone. It’s just cool. My papaw (that’s southern for grandpa) had one at his house, and I think that my dream house would have one too. If it was good enough for him, it’ll be good enough for me. Yes, that is the only reason for the sweet photo–deal.

Metallica’s Death Magnetic came out today, their first studio release since St. Anger, which was by and large considered a big belly flop—I liked a couple of tracks, myself, but the super lo-fi production was horrible. They ended up trying too hard to sound like they didn’t try that hard. Anyhoo, I didn’t get to pick up Death Magnetic, mostly because my small town doesn’t have a record store worth a damn. I suppose I’ll have to get it when I travel to Lexington in the next month or so. I did check out the video for “The Day That Never Comes” on YouTube, though, and I have to say that I’m a fan. The sound is straight out of the Black AlbumRELoad era, which is my favorite. Solos are back, things are nice and tight–nothing like St. Anger.

Speaking of music, I’ve been playing a lot of guitar lately. Time to influence my playing, Faithful Reader. Gimme a song you’d want to learn on guitar, and I’ll gladly learn it. I’m bored, and you’ll have a chance to make someone else do something. Win/win, right? Leave a comment, I’ll leave you with this.

Leave a Reply

