YouTube & the Ukulele

As the time on my lease dwindles, I’ve done what any responsible tenant would do–postpone packing to watch surf the Web!

I play music somewhat regularly (meaning I grab my guitar everyday and play something to keep my fingers nimble).  Over the past month, I’ve been thinking about getting a ukulele.  They have a neat sound, and they aren’t tuned like guitars, meaning I’d have to relearn scale patterns, which I’m excited about regardless of how big my hands are.

Anyhoo, I found this YouTube artist through my searches.  She has a few songs uploaded, and they’re all worth viewing.  As a video-tastic treat, I was going to post her cover of Britney Spears’s “Toxic,” but this video just made me laugh too much.  For your viewing pleasure, I present to you…Mr. Fancy Pants.  Further proof that overcoming obstacles, no matter how small or hilarious, can bring out the best in all of us.  Enjoy.

[EDIT] Had I waited a couple seconds longer, I could have also told you that our young heroine also has a blog.  Ch-ch-check it out!

3 responses to “YouTube & the Ukulele

  1. Haha, great video 😀 I got a ukelele a few month ago but i’ve barely touched it. I shall probably never be as good as her tho 😦

  2. Hi Chris,

    Thanks for the comment. If you want to see more of that video, Channel search YouTube for “sweetafton23” and you’ll be in heaven. Congrats on the uke; I’ve been unable to get one, but maybe it’ll be a nice Christmas gift.

    And whatever the subject, practice makes perfect–pick up your uke this instant!!!!

  3. Initial thought, she must be awesome because she has a Flogging Molly shirt on.

    Then, she frustrated me by messing up so much.

    But, she’s more of a woman than I because I would have smashed the uke waaay before getting it right.

    However, she finished, I ended up liking the song and now I think that I want to be friends with her.

Leave a Reply

