I Know It Isn’t Christmas Yet, But…

This was just too great not to post.  I stumbled upon a great site entitled “It’s a Wonderful Internet.”  Set to the plot of It’s a Wonderful Life and the rhyme pattern of ‘Twas the Night Before Christmas, this interactive “book” tells the story of how one man turns his back on the Internet, only to realize how much he truly loves all it can do for him.  Great stuff.

As of late, I’ve really been wanting to start messing around with Photoshop again.  I used to use it all the time, back in what I refer to as my “Myspace Era.”  Since then, though, I’ve not used it very much at all.  I’m interested in doing basic photo manipulation, as well as creating backgrounds and special images/animation using only the tools within Photoshop.

Beard...Tree, Beard

Beard…Tree, Beard

To explain this one a little, Treebeard is a nickname I’ve had since the summer after my sophomore year of high school.  I was in Upward Bound, a summer program designed to get high-school students used to the college experience–and a place where it’s very to get a nickname.  I had a large goatee–so large that most of the students who didn’t know me thought that I was one of the college kids assigned to watch them that summer.  It took about a week for them to find a nickname that referenced my super-crazy ability to grow facial hair–Treebeard, a reference to the character from the Tolkien films and movies.  I didn’t think it would last the summer, yet here I am five years later, and there are some people who have to ask me what my last name is sometimes because they simply refer to me as either “Treebeard,” “T.B.,” or “Mr. Beard.”

And that’s the way the cookie crumbles…

Leave a Reply

