What Do Wii Think?

If anyone who reads this is a Wii owner, I’d love feedback on the following games:

Super Smash Bros. Brawl
Mario Kart Wii
Super Mario Galaxy
Twilight Princess
Wii Fit
Resident Evil 4: Wii Edition

A post on these games and more is coming tonight.  I just want to get some feedback on what others think.  Thanks for the consideration.

EDIT:  Also, any game recommendations you might have would be welcome.  I don’t want the list of games above to be any sort of restraint on your thinking/Wii playing. 

3 responses to “What Do Wii Think?

  1. Here’s what I gots for ya:

    Brawl is ok, but only seems to live up to its true potential if there are more than two players and, in my experience, is alcohol is involved. Otherwise, you have the choice of playing it as a button-mashing game, (which is frustrating as it doesn’t work terribly well) or memorizing all of the possible move combinations, which gives you a sense of superiority but takes a lot of interest out of the game. With several players and some alcohol, you don’t care that you’re button mashing, and if you manage to memorize how a move works, you become king.

    Mario Kart Wii is, I think, an amazingly well-made game. The movement is great, and the difference in driving between carts is vast, which makes for a lot of strategy. I also love both the new tricks and the new tracks, and the online options take boredom out of the equation. I enjoy the bullet and the “ink” items, but hate POW and the lightning cloud. I also enjoy the speed boost gained from hiding behind other characters. That said, I somehow can’t get behind it as fully as I can get behind DoubleDash. I miss having two characters to switch between, as it was an additional strategy decision. I also really, truly, profoundly miss special items. Without my Yoshi egg, I don’t feel whole, and I miss the Bowser shell just as much.

    Wii Fit is something that I very much want to buy. It seems like it will be a great deal of fun, as well as useful for getting some exersize. I’m also hearing amazing things about the skiing portion.

    Also, I was thinking, and perhaps game reviews are something we could collaborate on. We could both play a game, or play it together, and take opposing positions on it, or something of that nature. Might be fun.

  2. Super Smash Bros. Brawl

    Personally, I love the Smash series because I grew up with Nintendo. Most of Nintendo’s franchises are represented in some way, shape, or form. This would be Nintendo’s yearbook. As a game, it stands well with balanced gameplay and great multiplayer. I think it’s worth picking up.

    Mario Kart Wii

    I’ve only played this game once and that was yesterday at the mall. I did the Mushroom Circuit. Overall, it wasn’t bad, but not worth me buying (renting isn’t out of the question though).

    Twilight Princess

    While it doesn’t one-up Ocarina as far as how a game should be made, it comes pretty close. The levels are some of the best to come out of Nintendo and it’s packed with a lot of extras. Worth picking up.

    Wii Fit

    I picked this up a few weeks ago and I think it’s a fun package. If you’re buying it to get into shape, just remember that, like in real exercise, you only get back what you put into it. If you’re buying it for the balance board and for the games coming in the future, well…it’s the ONLY way at this point to get a board, so you have no choice. Overall, the games are fun and they do help you get healthy.

    Resident Evil 4: Wii Edition

    Currently the best Resident Evil game out there (until RE5 is released). The Wii Remote definitely adds a level intuitive gameplay to the mix. Plus, it’s only $30.

  3. Mike Robinson

    Thanks for some well-written responses. I’ve received some other suggestions from a couple of friends, and I think I have a good idea of where to go with this post. More input is always welcome.

Leave a Reply

