Hillbilly Hiatus

I’ll start by apologizing for the unusually long break in posting.  I went back home to Pikeville, KY for the weekend, where I don’t have an Internet connection (I view this as a good thing–sometimes, I need a break from the Internet). 

Every year during the third weekend in April, Pikeville is host to a festival called Hillbilly Days.  I know, some of you are laughing at the name, but it’s really a great time.  Over-priced yet great-tasting food, carnival rides and games, lots of live music, and the ability to walk through downtown and see everyone you’ve not seen since, well, last year.  Sure, it’s hell to find parking (that’s where it comes in handy to be familiar with the nooks and crannies) but if you ask me–and if you’re reading this, you’re at least curious–there’s no better time to be in Pikeville than when the Bluegrass Cannonball is making its rounds (and when funnel cakes are abundant).

I wish I could have taken pictures, but I didn’t remember my camera.  Maybe next year. 

Leave a Reply

