Fear and Loathing in Lex Vegas

The week has pretty much been an overhaul.

Safari has continued to work out great.  I also found a list of open-source software for Windows that I intend to try out.  Quicken is still beautiful (although the list contains a program that may replace it, provided it works great).  All in all, all my computer is missing is the RAM that I’ve still yet to order.  I’ll do it someday.

In literary news, I’m really enjoying Hunter S. Thompson’s Fear and Loathing: On The Campaign Trail ’72.  It’s my first HST book, and I’m liking it a hell of a lot more than I thought I would.  Between him and Kurt Vonnegut, I’m no longer convinced that writing has to be this horribly structured thing.  What I mean is this: it seems that, no matter what which author has written, it almost seems like they’ve thought it to death.  I’m not saying that this makes the writing good or bad–that job is handled by the particular style of the writer.  I’m just saying that, maybe the road map needs to be shortened a little bit.  I think that’s what attractive about HST, at least in this particular novel–the events unfolded for him, he had no way of knowing what was going to happen…even the occasional bit of fiction that pops up doesn’t seem to be too heavily structured, or thought out to the point of neutralizing or flattening the effect of the book as a whole.  In short, I like that.

As a signoff, here’s a video of one Kurt Vonnegut’s last public interviews.  Found it while I was Youtube surfing earlier today.  Hope you enjoy.

One response to “Fear and Loathing in Lex Vegas

  1. FEAR AND LOATHING IN LAS VEGAS was one of those books that, literally, changed my life. made me see that one need not conform, that it’s okay to let the id loose…and then write about it. One of the funniest books in American literature–and, of course, the Steadman drawings are icing on the cake…

Leave a Reply

